Skip to content

Celebrating…

February 27, 2009

 

st7

One of my favorite stores, Victorian Trading Company, has some of the most wonderful catalogs, talk about inspiration! The latest one has a section on St. Patrick’s Day. And though off the subject, it has a two page layout on “housekeeping”…Anyway seeing these, I went searching for my book on “traditions”,

51a0b4edc6l__sl210_

 Mrs. Sharp’s Traditions: Reviving Victorian Family Celebrations Of Comfort & Joy , by Sarah Ban Breathnach. Knowing she would certainly know how to celebrate traditionally. Of course I was right. This book has wonderful suggestions and even recipes for “all” the seasons, as well as holidays. Old-fashioned pleasures of family, customs, and home!

You’ll certainly find some feminine ideas there for all the seasons, and holidays, with a good bit on homemaking as well!

A few items that come to mind in the line of food that could be served on St. Patrick’s Day.:

  • Bubbles & Squeek
  • Corned beef sandwiches
  • Irish Soda Bread (recipe in book above)
  • Colcannon (recipe in book above)

 I’ve also added some really interesting items to my Amazon store for St. Patrick’s Day, and Ireland in general. Clothing, music, Irish whistles, maps, movies, etc. I think it is wonderful to use items such as these in teaching our children and grandchildren about culture of other places. And I certainly enjoy them myself! So let’s get prepared to celebrate this holiday on March 17, in true feminine, traditional style. And don’t forget the wearing of the green!

st15

  I know this is a little early, but knowing me I would forget it if I didn’t post it now, when it was on my mind…

sig1

No comments yet

Leave a comment