Skip to content

What’s for supper?

April 11, 2009
tags:

cooking-038 cooking-041 cooking-042

Salmon & Tuna Patties

I tweaked a recipe I found for Maryland Crabcakes a few years ago, and started making these…my family loves them!

1 can salmon (I use Double “Q” Pink Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon)

1 sm. can tuna (I use Van Camp’s Chunk White Albacore)

4 T. thinly sliced green onions

1/2 t. fresh thyme (pinch the leaves off) A tedious little task but worth it!

1 t. yellow mustard

2 eggs

2 T. mayonnaise

1/2 c. (+ 1 cup reserved for dredging) bread crumbs

1 T. cornmeal

1 T. flour

1 t. baking powder

pinch of salt

olive oil and vegetable oil mixed, for frying

I save the heels of bread in a plastic bag in the freezer, and when I make recipes calling for bread crumbs I toss a couple into the blender.

Mix everything well in a medium size bowl. Heat oils. Make patties to desired size, dredge in bread crumbs, place carefully in hot oils, fry until bottoms are golden brown before turning so they won’t fall apart. Turn, fry until golden brown. Take out, place on paper towels for draining. Makes about a dozen patties. Only four are pictured, and you’re lucky I got a pic of them, before they were eaten! 😉

Serve hot with your choice of condiments on buns, or however you like.

cooking

When we eat them as sandwiches, I like to use small brown and serve dinner rolls instead of hamburger buns. They’re the perfect size for us. Not too much bread even if you eat 2-3 of them! Imagine eating 2-3 hamburger buns, the bread alone would fill you up and make you plump….LOL (I’m plump, but not from bread) 😛

I also made a salad with lettuce, green onions, chopped cauliflower, sliced radishes, and seedless grapes.

NO pic….It was gobbled up too fast!

Another frugal meal for us. We used green onions that my step father gave us, eggs from our chickens, thyme I grew, bread I saved, and baking powder I made.

We saved some of the onions awhile back he gave us, and we planted them this week. So we’ll have “plenty” soon!

Okay, I’m off to rest and relax while the guys are off doing something or other…

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

